I’m out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message…

m_running_from_clock

Weeks turned into a month. The comical part of my day was that I would watch Jenny running frantically past my office straight to the Program Director on an hourly basis. I would almost giggle when I would ask her as she was running through the corridor with her big hair blowing, ‘Is there anything I can do?’ I never received an answer. I was also never privy to any issues, complaints, or new promotions until the last minute. My days were long and I hated getting up for work every day. Dad called me at work one morning and asked if I would like to go for lunch with him downtown. I definitely needed the distraction, so I told him I would meet him at his office. It wasn’t like I was going to be missed at the station, so what the hell, I thought. Why not? I hopped on the subway and made my way downtown to meet Dad. He worked in an office located at Front and Bay, so it was an easy commute for me. I made my way up to his office and it was like entering another world. Most of the people who worked there were corporate big money earners. Not what I was accustomed to, and to be honest, I knew I would never be comfortable in a place like this. Dad met me in the reception area and decided to introduce me to everyone. He said, beaming with pride, ‘This is my daughter Paula, she is promotion coordinator at the number one talk radio station in Toronto’! Everyone shook my hand as I blushed and looked at the floor. Thanks Dad I thought, way to go, you’ve embarrassed me! Following introductions we made our way down the elevators to a steak house in the pathways. I wish I could remember what we talked about, but I was genuinely flabbergasted that Dad had asked me to lunch. I was also overjoyed that our lives had reached the point of normalcy again, following his Cancer. I do remember that we talked and laughed non-stop. This was the exact moment I noticed his ‘cough’. ‘You okay?’ I asked concerned. ‘Yeah, it’s probably just a cold coming on’ he said smiling. ‘When is your next doctor’s appointment?’ I asked. ‘Your Mom knows, I’m not quite sure. She has it written down on the calendar, you should call and see how she is doing, or better yet, come over for dinner this weekend!’ he said. ‘Okay, let me see what’s happening and I’ll let you know’, I said smiling. We finished our lunch and off I went back to the station, as slowly as possible. I sat down at my desk and waited for 5 o’clock. Oh god, I thought, I should have stayed a little longer with Dad. This was excruciating. I looked up to witness Jenny, the short distance runner, race pass my door, stop abruptly, and turn around instantly saying, ‘I need you’! Breathing heavy. What? What did I just hear? She needed me? Oh oh, I thought once again, this couldn’t be good.

© 2014 Paula Bilz. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

