You Can Always Go Home

Daddy-and-Daughter-brunette

‘Well’, Dad opened the conversation, ‘When do you start your new job at the radio station?’

I cringed inside. I could lie, but I knew he would see right through me.

‘Ah’ I began to say not really knowing how to put THAT situation into words.

I guess I should just tell him the truth, as both Mom and him would know if I were lying. I don’t know how they always knew, considering I didn’t lie much.

I put it all out there, told them the entire story of how the General Manager had hired me, but the Owner approached him a few days later and told him the position would be eliminated. I made sure that both my parents understood that the General Manager was a man of his word and had come up with a plan to honour his promise.

Maybe it was the way I explained it, but Mom gasped and Dad looked downwards. Excellent, it felt like my Parents lost all confidence in me.

‘Did you sign an employment agreement?’ Dad asked.

‘No, the position was locked with a handshake’ I said, trying to be strong.

‘I hope this man is worth his weight in gold’ Dad said.

Me too, I thought, but decided not to add to the lack of confidence.

‘It will all work out’ Mom said as she got up from the table to give me a hug.

‘This plan you said he had, when does it begin?’ Dad asked.

‘Oh Ray, let’s just leave it for now’ Mom said giving Dad the head tilt and the eye.

‘It’s okay Mom’, I said gesturing for her to sit back down.

I looked at Dad and tried to reassure him, ‘this Monday they will deliver the typewriter so I can type up mailing lists from home.’

‘And how will you be paid?’ Dad asked.

Now that was a good question. I had no idea how and when I would be paid. Money never came up, except during the interview before the job was eliminated.

‘I’m sure he has a plan for that too’ I said.

‘I hope so, maybe you should start looking for another job’ Dad said flatly.

My head began to pound again; all I wanted to do was go back to bed and forget about yesterday, and, today for that matter.

Next thing I knew, Mom got up from the table and began to clean the kitchen floor on her knees.

Now most people would find that strange. But I had begun to notice over the last few years that when Mom became anxious, she cleaned.

It was obvious to Dad and I that you couldn’t stop her. Furthermore, it was that unspoken communication between Dad and I, that more than likely, I did not inherit the ‘cleaning gene’.

Dad and I began to laugh. Not at Mom, not the cleaning of the floors, but more at the situation.

‘Everything will work out’ Dad said smiling.

‘Anne, come in here and finish your coffee, you can do that later!’ He happily said while winking at me.

‘One more minute and I’ll come back in’ Mom yelled from the kitchen.

Dad looked over at me, put his hand down on the table close to mine and said ‘Go home, get some rest, and come back for dinner.

I’ll go out and get some steaks to put on the bar-b-que.’

And scene! That was that! My parents loved me no matter what, accepted all my faults in spite of the fact my life was now turned upside down. I had no job, but it didn’t seem to matter. I was lucky, maybe not in a financial way, but in a way where I felt loved.

Yes, steak on a bar-b-que for dinner would be great. Now I needed a little shut eye and time to put everything into perspective. In this case I do believe, Father did know best!

 

© 2014 Paula Bilz. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

