The beginning of the end…

quote-now-this-is-not-the-end-it-is-not-even-the-beginning-of-the-end-but-it-is-perhaps-the-end-of-winston-churchill-37226

 

1989 – It was a year of change for our close knit family and believe me when I say, nothing would ever be the same again.

The six months leading up to the year was filled with enjoyment as I had joined a local Toronto Radio station as Promotion Co-ordinator.

Realizing that the record company I had worked for was not working out, I reached out to a good friend of mine who was able to secure an interview with the General Manager at the radio station.

The interview was not like anything I had experienced before. I was asked questions that seemed a little strange.

‘You are going out with 3 friends for dinner, you are running late, they will say 3 good things and 3 bad things about you… what will they say?’ the General Manager asked me.

It was easy to answer 3 good things, but the 3 bad things really stumped me.

I can’t remember exactly how I answered, but I did say, ‘Well, one of the things they could say is that I’m late’, smiling.

My answer seemed to lighten the mood as the General Manager laughed, and said ‘good one’.

The next question he asked was ‘Have you ever had a speeding ticket?’

Oh boy, within seconds my mind was reeling. Should I answer truthfully, which would have been yes, or lie? I decided to answer truthfully as I had already found out that I wasn’t a good liar.

He slapped his knee while smiling and said ‘excellent’.

Really? I thought. Having a speeding ticket is the right answer in his opinion?

He began to explain his point of view on the question,

‘You see, Paula. That means you are driven, you are a bit of a daredevil, you don’t hesitate to take chances.’

Okay, I’ll go along with that if it makes me hirable, I thought.

Although the interview lasted close to 45 minutes, it seemed to fly by.

I liked this man. He seemed to be fair. I liked how he carried himself; add to that, he seemed to have a fantastic sense of humour.

He ended the interview and asked,

‘Do you have any questions, from me?’

‘Ah, no, I think I’m fine’, I said smiling.

‘Well, I like you and Richard has only great things to say about you, so when can you start?’ he said.

Wow, I thought. It’s that easy? I can’t believe that I would quit my current position within the record company and stroll right into this position at the radio station.

‘I can resign tomorrow, but they deserve at least 2 weeks notice’. I said.

‘Perfect’, he said as he stood up from his very large desk, walked around and reached out his hand to shake mine and said, ‘welcome to CFRB, we are so thrilled to have you work here’.

And that was that. No papers to sign, just a handshake. Wow, I couldn’t believe it. That was easy.

I was 25 years old and going to be working for Toronto’s top talk radio station, could life get any better? What I didn’t realize at the time, was, that it could get a lot worse.

 

© 2014 Paula Bilz. All Rights Reserved.

2 thoughts on “The beginning of the end…

  1. Earl Warren, Wally Krouter, who else worked there the guy from police head quarters….lol Dominion was the sponsor cause it’s mainly because of the meat who was the guy with the commentary – hard liner guy?

Leave a Reply

