Letting Loose

7ece61be631a9ccacb3474f2c8ebb8e3bbbc95

I arrived home and immediately called my brother and relayed the conversation that occurred between Mom and I during the day. Thankfully, he said he would deal with it on his way home.

I breathed a sigh of relief. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to see Mom, in fact, it was the opposite, but I wasn’t sure I had the patience or energy to deal with her concerns. I didn’t want to make it any worse then it already seemed. The phone rang as I poured myself a cold beer.

‘Hello’? I said

‘Hi Paula, it’s Mom, I was wondering what time your friend is coming to visit tomorrow?’ Mom asked.

At that moment, I paused, how the heck did she remember that Andrea was visiting tomorrow? I flashed back to our conversation this afternoon where I could not figure out what she had been talking about, and now, this???

‘Ah, I said, 2 p.m., why?’

‘Oh just wondering, I was going to vacuum and do a bit of laundry and wanted to make sure I had everything done before your friend arrives’, she said quite calmly and ‘normal’.

‘Everything okay Mom?’ I said hesitantly.

‘Yes, why are you asking?’

‘No reason, ummm, I think I’m going out for dinner with friends tonight just in case you call and I’m not home’, I said.

‘Ok dear, have fun, don’t drink too much and get home safely’ she said cheerily.

‘Sure, talk to you tomorrow?’ I said.

‘Have a good night, and see you tomorrow’, Mom said.

‘Bye’.

‘Bye’.

Now, that was strange… I thought, or was I the one losing it? Our conversation was like the old days. There didn’t seem to be any confusion on her part AND she remembered about Andrea’s visit tomorrow! All I could do was shake my head and take a swig of beer.

I changed my clothes, called my friends and we made plans for a late dinner at a nearby pub.

We arrived (Mark and I) at the pub, found a table, ordered a pitcher of draft, and waited for our friends.

‘Everything okay?’ Mark asked.

‘I don’t know. This afternoon Mom called me at work and was not making any sense, I became angry with her and she proceeded to slam the phone down and hang up on me. Then when I arrived home, she called me and seemed fine. She never mentioned our conversation this afternoon, AND remembered Andrea was dropping by for a visit tomorrow’, I said.

‘You want to go over tonight and see if she is okay?’ Mark said in a caring voice.

‘No, I am not sure I could deal with her, and besides my brother is going to be with her tonight’.

‘Good, try to forget about it and have some fun tonight’, he said.

Smiling I said ‘I’ll do my best!’

Suddenly our friends arrived and it was like old times. It was nice to not worry and have a distraction from what would prove to be the longest roller coaster ride in history.

 

© 2014 Paula Bilz. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

